My journey to a BMW K1200RS. Part Six.

Posted: February 19, 2011 in BMW K1200RS, Kawasaki ZZR1100
Tags: , , , , ,

A ZZR1100 came along after the VFR. The ZZR was a beast. It had been lovingly attended by its previous owners but was way too fast for its own good. It was a smooth, powerful brute of a machine. It was comfortable and very economical for its size, but it was just not me. I should have listened to the omens when I picked the bike up. I saw this one advertised in Derby. I borrowed my neighbours’ trailer, for the first time. It had a short loading ramp and the low belly fairing on the ZZR smashed into it as it was loaded onto the trailer. A costly repair was required before I even rode it.

But when I did, I quickly tired of leaning over the tank and forever checking the speedo. 100mph just came and went so quickly that it was no pleasure in going for a normal, enjoyable, sensible ride out. I didn’t want a bike that no matter how gently you used the throttle launched you towards a lost licence at every opportunity. So this too went into the list of have hads.

Next followed a series of BMW’s.

I saw an advert in a classified ad on the computer. Someone was selling a 21,000 mile BMW R1100RT  in Kent, for a song. The bike had been used as a ‘blood service’ back-up bike so was white in colour, but had full BMW service history and was in civilian specification. No emergency lights and no nasty holes in fairings, just some reflective decals. It was about £1500 under priced so I phoned, haggled some more and immediately borrowed the trailer and went and got it!

I cleaned it up, removed the stickers and sold it on again.

Leave a comment